Press Statement President of MMC 13th August 2019 – Membership Of The Malaysian Medical Council Under The Medical Act 1971 (Amendment 2012)

The Malaysian Medical Council (MMC) is represented by 33 medical practitioners from various sectors of the medical profession throughout Malaysia as provided for by the Medical Act 1971 (Amendment 2012).

Members are from those appointed by the Minister of Health from the Ministry of Health, the Ministry of Higher Education and the private health sector. In addition to those appointed, there are members who are determined by elections. This provides an opportunity for medical practitioners from institutions other than mentioned above to have a vote in the Council and to determine the direction of the medical profession in Malaysia.

The duration of each membership is 3 years.

On 28 July 2019, the Council concluded the elections to replace 9 outgoing members representing Peninsular Malaysia whose tenures ended on 13 August 2019. The practitioners who were successfully elected, in alphabetical order, are as follows:

  1. Dato’ Sri Dr. Abu Hassan Asaari Bin Abdullah;
  2. Dr. Ahmad Mahyuddin Bin Mohamed;
  3. Dato’ Dr. Anuar Zaini Bin Md. Zain;
  4. Dato’ Dr. Hanafiah Harunarashid;
  5. Datuk Dr. Kuljit Singh A/L Mahindar Singh.
  6. Dr. Milton Lum Siew Wah;
  7. Dr. Nor Hayati Othman;
  8. Dr. Suhazeli Bin Abdullah;
  9. Tan Sri Dato’ Dr. Yahya Bin Awang;

Their tenures commence on 14 August 2019.

I would like to thank the outgoing members, namely Dato’ Dr. Abdul Hamid Bin Abdul Kadir, Dato’ Dr. Zaki Morad Bin Mohd Zaher, Dr. David Quek Kwang Leng, Prof. Datuk Dr. Abdul Razzak Bin Mohd Said, Dr. Fadzilah Binti Hasan and Datuk Dr. Zainal Ariffin Bin Omar for their dedication and outstanding service while being members of the Council

The membership of the Council now stands as below:


Council members have an obligation to uphold the trust of the public and the dignity of the medical profession. I have faith that they will contribute to the Council with responsibility, dedication and commitment.

Thank you.



President/Returning Officer

Malaysian Medical Council

13th August 2019

Categories: Blog, Press

Tagged as: